Notifications
Clear all

Moving into Biosafety

1 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes
(@zoe-worthington)
Topic starter  

When I completed my PhD, I was certain that I would spend my career in academia. I loved being at the bench, working with other academics, often getting the opportunity to meet and learn from leaders in the microbiology and genetics field. However, after 8 years as a postdoctoral researcher it started to become clear that getting my own grant was going to be challenging and my own lab was probably an uphill struggle. Add to that starting a family, it was clearly time to pivot on my career goals. After a brief stint as a lecturer at a local community college I found my way into biosafety and the regulatory field. Here I met many people who had also started their careers at the bench and moved into biosafety. If you are looking for a change mid-career, biosafety is actually a great option. The role of a biosafety professional is to help prevent exposure of individuals, the environment and the community to potentially biohazardous materials or infectious agents. Biosafety as a career can come in many forms, the most obvious being a biosafety officer at an institution. However, any location that conducts research with biohazardous materials has a need to address biosafety. Biosafety professionals can be found in numerous settings including universities, hospitals, research facilities, pharmaceutical companies, the biotech industry, military and government agents. As gene therapy becomes more mainstream and regulation of this research evolves, there is an increasing need for biosafety experts. These experts support clinical research by reviewing the research and advising companies/institutions on how to set up labs, add appropriate equipment for specific studies or utilize their existing facilities in a safe manner.