SRA job after postdoc

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
 MGV
(@mgv)
Topic starter  

Hi,

I could use some advice! I have a PhD (published very well) from a small school and 5 years postdoc experience from fancy-pants university (no papers in the near future, lab has great reputation but is notoriously slow for publishing). I've recently relocated to a midwest city for family reasons, unfortunately I don't have any flexibility on this right now and need to stay put in this city for 2 years. There's a limited amount of biotech, very few startups in my field. Couple big pharma companies with some amount overlap with my training but not great fits. I've been on the lookout and aggressively networking since about April, but during that time nothing has opened for a scientist position that matches my profile. I've applied to things that somewhat fit but have gotten no interviews yet. I've talked to a few CSO/CEOs of some of the startups here that are distantly related to my field of expertise and they agree that right now there's really not that much here that would be a great fit, maybe in a few years as the biotech scene in this city grows. I'm starting to approach the point where prolonging this search will put a huge strain on my finances.
I have been offered a position as a senior research associate in a large startup (job posting listed PhD as desirable qualification but it's still a tech level job). Prospective boss says there's room for growth and creative science but I'm worried that by taking this job, even as a temporary fix, it will sabotage my career for years to come, as it is my first step out of academia. I fear that when a better fitting job arises (at this same or a different company), my CV will be looked down upon because I was hired as an SRA. I'm ok with being a pair of hands for a year or 2 but I'm sure that at the very least that would raise some questions for future hiring managers .