Notifications
Clear all

Why These Questions During an Interview?

1 Posts
1 Users
0 Likes
(@dr-olga-gurkovskaya)
Topic starter  

Do you sometimes wonder why a hiring manager asks you certain questions and what responses he wants to hear? Here, I am offering to look at the job interview process from the hiring manager's point of view. While it may not provide all the answers you are looking for, it may allow you to understand the agenda of the hiring manager interviewing you. No big secrets will be revealed in this article; it is just meant to show an interview in the manager’s shoes.

I am a hiring manager. Although I do not work in the biomedical field and do not hire for positions you will apply for, the ultimate goals of hiring a manager should be similar, like we all humans are more alike than different. I also want to clarify that this is my personal experience as a hiring manager, and opinions expressed here will probably not be shared by other hiring managers.

I will start with apparent and self-evident statements. If a candidate for a job is looking to get hired, the hiring manager's goal is to hire the best candidate. While trying to hire the best candidate is important, the hiring manager stresses even more about NOT hiring the wrong candidate. It is believed that people are motivated more by fear than reward. This is why it is more important for managers to recognize potentially bad employees rather than choose the perfect one.

I would define the biggest worry for management for the candidate who

1) will likely quit shortly after being hired;
2) will be a liability for the company either by
a) not able to perform essential job duties or
b) unable to work with the other members of the team if multiple employees are involved in the project.